Hayden and Layla's Place

Miss Independent December 6, 2012

Filed under: Mommy on Layla,Uncategorized — karagoodwin @ 7:56 pm

Layla is such an independent little lady.  She really wants to do things by herself, and it’s funny because I remember being like that when I was little, and I’ve always thought Hayden would get to that point but he never really has.  He would have been quite happy to let us do everything for him all the time – feed him, dress him, bathe him, etc etc.  Layla on the other hand, has got it covered.  She has done absolutely brilliantly with her potty training, and now she even wants to do all that herself.  If we go to a public restroom (and boy do we ever – she wants to see them all it seems), she will push me out of the stall and lock it.  The first couple of times I was pretty nervous about this – mostly that she wouldn’t know how to unlock the door, but now I know she’s got it covered.

At home she is varying between using the little training potties which require dumping the pee-pees into the toilet after use and going in the big potty.  Last weekend I was gone for a (very quick, unsuccessful, due to not being able to shake this darn cough) run and John was in the shower.  When I came home I could hear John praising her because while he was showering she’d gone potty in her Minnie potty, dumped the pee-pees in the toilet, and was washing out the little bowl in the sink.  What a star!

She also likes to bathe herself.  We’ve been coaching Hayden for months now on how to bathe himself, and she follows along with our instructions and refuses to let us help her.

She also has been cracking me up because lately we’ll be reading and she’ll need to go do something, and she’ll hold her hand up to me and say, “I’ll be right back, don’t finish it yet.”  Darn Layla, I was really looking forward to the end of this page turner where they show a picture of an object and put the word of the object underneath it.  What could be next, an orange?!  I did NOT see that coming!

 

Leave a Reply

